Thursday, 26 September 2019

Taiwan Loses More Pacific Support

Before last week 17 nations had diplomatic relations with Taiwan, six of them in the Pacific.  That number has now dropped to 15 with Solomon Islands and Kiribati switching to recognize mainland China.  For now, that leaves Taiwan with four Pacific Island supporters: Marshall Islands and Palau (both linked closely to the USA), Tuvalu and Nauru.  But a change in government in Solomons or Kiribati could see them switch back again.  At issue, personalities and aid seem to be the tipping factors.

No comments:

Post a Comment

All polite, reasoned, original comments welcomed. Please use your real name or a pseudonym by clicking on the down arrow next to Comment and then select Name/URL. You do not need to fill in URL. . Anonymous comments make discussion difficult..